Patient/Family Safety Advisory Panel

Big welcome to our newest members: Neil McMillan from Edmonton, Michelle Hill from Medicine Hat, and Greg Powell from Millarville!!!

The Patient/Family Safety Advisory Panel identifies, studies, reviews, advocates and advises the HQCA on patient safety and quality issues from a citizen, patient, and family perspective.

The Panel was established in 2010 to leverage the experiences and perspectives of patients and their families to improve and promote patient safety in Alberta’s health system. It started as a strategic initiative through the provincial Patient Safety Framework for Albertans.

Through the HQCA, the Panel works to promote patient safety principles, concepts, and actions in all aspects of Alberta’s publicly-funded healthcare system.

Current members:

  • Byron King, Wetaskiwin
  • D’Arcy Duquette, Calgary
  • Geralyn L’Heureux, Magrath
  • Greg Powell, Millarville
  • Joan Embry, Calgary
  • Karla Wyld, Lacombe
  • Kim Walton, Sundre
  • Krista Schuett, Grande Prairie
  • Leslie Ayre-Jaschke, Peace River
  • Michelle Hill, Medicine Hat
  • Neil McMillan, Edmonton

Read our current members biographies here.