Patient Experience Awards

Recipients of the 2023 awards will be announced in spring. Nominations for the 2024 awards will be accepted this fall.


The Patient Experience Awards were established by the HQCA and its Patient and Family Advisory Committee to recognize and spread knowledge about initiatives that improve the patient’s overall experience in accessing and receiving healthcare services. Recipients of the 2023 Patient Experience Awards will be announced in spring 2023.

Nominations for the 2024 awards will open in fall 2023. Check back here in early October if you are interesting in applying or nominating a healthcare team.

Who can apply or be nominated?

Any team in Alberta involved in designing and implementing an initiative that promotes a positive patient experience in accessing or receiving healthcare services.

A successful applicant:

  • Has some evidence from the patient perspective that something needed to be changed or improved.
  • Engages patients and/or their family members in the process to improve (including the evaluation).
  • Acts on patient and/or family feedback.
  • Can show how their patients’ and their families’ experiences have been positively impacted by this approach or initiative.

What types of initiatives qualify?

Initiatives in any healthcare setting including, but not only: primary care, acute care, home care, transitions in care, and continuing care. The initiatives that will be considered must have resulted in a positive impact on the patient experience.

Click here to learn about previous award recipients, from 2022 and earlier.

How do I apply for the award?

Nominations for the 2024 awards will open in fall 2023.